## **2023 Annual NDGWA Meeting**

Date 2-4-23 Time called to order: 4:50 p.m. (MST)
Location: Fluffy Fields Vineyard and Winery Time adjourned: 5:50 p.m. (MST)

Members Present: Rodney Hogen, Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, Kevin Kinzel, Steve Sagaser, Roberta Forward, Aaron Opdahl, Allison Krieger, Mark Lunde, Attendees of the 2023 NDGWA Conference

Purpose: 2023 Annual Membership Meeting

Agenda Item	Reports/Discussion/Conclusions	Recommendations and/or Actions
Quorum	-President Rodney Hogen called the meeting to order and asked the secretary if there was a quorum; 30 of our current 50 members were present.	
Secretary's Report	-Minutes from the 2022 Annual Meeting were available on the website, and displayed prior to the meeting for review. Allison went over the highlights. There were no additions of corrections made. Motion to approve by Harlene H-V., seconded by Beth S. passed by voice vote.	
Treasurer's Report	-Harlene reported 5,644.01 in checking and 3,119.45 in our PayPal account. Dues have been coming in. Motion to approve the treasurers report by Steve S., seconded by Larry W. passed by voice vote.	-Harlene recommended a dues reminder be sent out.
OLD BUSINESS		
Montana Grape and Wine Association Update	-Bob Thaden, current President of MGWA, updated the group on the happenings in MT. Their current legislative issues were reviewed. Montana has had interest from multiple states inquiring about a multi-state meeting.	
2022 Bylaws Update	-Allison K. and Nancy L. reported the proposed updated bylaws have been available for review on the website and printed in the 2022/2023 winter newsletter for review. Most change were wording and elimination of things our association have not used since inception. There was discussion on the change to an 8-member board with a balanced board of 4 member terms expiring each year. A motion to approve the proposed bylaw changes by Kevin K., seconded by Rose M. passed by voice vote.	-Allison will update the website with the new bylaws.
2022 Summer Tour Report	-Rodney reported on the August 27, 2022, NDGWA Summer Tour. There were 32 participants. We started at	

## **NEW BUSINESS**

# 2023 Wine Competition Results

NDSU with the grape germplasm enhancement program, continues on to Bergeson's Nursery, Jerome Larson's vineyard and high tunnel green house, wine tasting and tour at Grape Mill Vineyard and Winery, and on to Steve and Pat Sagaser's for a picnic.

-There were 45 entries and 35 ballots for the 2023 Wine Competition. Commercial and hobbyist wine makers competed side by side in a blind tasing. On the People's Choice ballots tasters were to select their top three wines in each category. Entries in each category were as follows: 17 red, 8 white, 14 non-grape (fruit), and 6 ciders. The two sweet wine entries were incorporated into the red category, there were no mead or commercial cider entries. Here are the results:

## RED GRAPE WINE

Hobbyist Wine

First Place - Mark & Nancy Lunde - Red Blend -

Frontenac/Foch/St. Croix

Second Place – Greg & Allison Krieger – Long Shadow

Vineyard – Midsummer Red

Third Place – Tom Jacobs – Snapper Bend – Sweet Red Prairie Rose

## Commercial Wine

First Place – Bob and Marilyn Thaden – Tongue River

Winery – Warm Front: 100% Frontenac Noir

Second Place – Greg & Lisa Cook – 4e Winery – Rail Line Red – Frontenac

Third Place – Rodney & Susan Hogen – Red Trail Vineyard – Dolly – Sabrevois & Shiraz

2023 Best of Category Over-all Winner Red Grape Wine – Mark & Nancy Lunde – Red blend – Frontenac/Foch/St. Croix

WHITE GRAPE WINE
Hobbyist White Grape Wine
First Place – Mark & Nancy Lunde – La Crescent
Second Place – Mark & Nancy Lunde – Itasca
Third Place – Greg & Allison Krieger – Long Shadow
Vineyards – St. Pepin

-The 2023 Wine Competition results will be posted on the website.

Commercial White Grape Wine

First Place – Rodney & Susan Hogen – Red Trail Vineyard – Frontenac Gris

Second Place – Bob & Marilyn Thaden – Tongue River Winery – La Crescent

Third Place – Greg & Lisa Cook – 4e Winery – Frontenac Gris

2023 Best of Category Over-all White Grape Wine – Rodney & Susan Hogen – Red Trail Vineyard – Frontenac Gris

FRUIT WINE – non grape
Commercial Fruit Wine – non grape
First Place – Kevin & Deb Kinzel – Fluffy Fields Vineyard &
Winery – Boo Ass Cherry
Second Place – Bob & Deb Grosz – Dakota Vines –
Thankful – Cranberry
Third Place tie – Kevin & Deb Kinzel – Fluffy Fields
Vineyard & Winery – Naughty Bunny
Third Place tie – Bob & Marilyn Thaden – Tongue River

Hobbyist Fruit Wine – non grape First Place – Mark & Nancy Lunde – Carmine Jewel Second Place – Greg & Allison Krieger – Long Shadow Vineyards – Haskap Third Place – Larry & Christie Walsh – Township Road Farm – Elderberry Itasca

2023 Best of Category Over-all Fruit Wine – non grape – Mark & Nancy Lunde – Carmine Jewel

MEAD – No Mead entries

**CIDER** 

Hobbyist Cider

Winery – Cherub

First Place - Opie & Shim - Cranberry Cider

Second Place tie - Opie & Shim - Carmel Apple Cider

Second Place tie - Opie & Shim - Sour Apple Cider

Third Place - Opie & Shim - Blue Citrus Cider

Commercial Cider – No commercial cider entries

2023 Best of Category Over-all Cider – Opie & Shim – Cranberry Cider

2022 Ag Department Marketing & Promotion Grant	-Allison reported on the 2023 Marketing and Promotion Grant and the NDGWA marketing committee activities in promoting the grape and wine industry in our state. Proposed rest area program brochures were reviewed at the meeting. All NDGWA members are encouraged to bring potential marketing activities to the committee. Our grant ends June 30, 2023.	
2023 Election of Board Members and Officers	-2023 Nominating chairs Kevin K. and Harlene H-V. presented the following names for the ballot of board members for the 2023-25 term: Haley Moen, Aaron Opdahl, Allison Krieger, Rodney Hogen.  In an effort to even out the board terms, as recommended in our current bylaws, Rodney Hogen (22-24) and Allison Krieger (22-24) have offered to re-run for two-year terms in 2023 rather than waiting until their current terms expire in 2024.  There were no nominations from the floor. Greg K. moved that nominations cease and that we cast a unanimous ballot for the slate of board nominees. Motion was seconded by Steve S., passed.  Election of Officers – There was one nomination for each office, no nominee declined nomination.  President – Rodney Hogen Vice President – Mark Lunde Treasurer – Harlene Hatterman-Valenti Secretary – Allison Krieger Greg K. moved to cast a unanimous ballot for the slate of officers. Motion was seconded by Kevin K., passed.	-2023 Board Members, Officers and terms: President – Rodney Hogen (23-25) Vice President – Mark Lunde (22-24) Treasurer – Harlene Hatteman-Valenti – ex officio Secretary – Allison Krieger (23-25) Kevin Kinzel (22-24) Steve Sagaser (22-24) Haley Moen (23-25) Aaron Opdahl (23-25) Roberta Forward (22-24)
Membership update	-February 4, 2023 @ 4:30 p.m. 50 members with paid dues.	
Meeting adjourned	-Motion by Allison K., seconded by Beth S., passed by voice vote at 5:50 p.m. (MST)	